Skip to content

Teaching life skills through 4-H

October 16, 2014

Here’s a great idea

“I pledge my head to clearer thinking, my heart to greater loyalty, my hands to larger service and my health to better living for my club, my community, my country, and my world”—from the 4-H pledge. October is National 4-H Month.

In other words

For 100+ years, 4-H, the nation’s largest youth development program, has used a framework based on this pledge to target life skills that support the growth and development of youth. 4-H provides many experiences that teach and reinforce these skills through hands on experience.

How this applies to you

4-H can help your child develop critical life skills.  For example, one life skill taught is Managing Resources. For Managing Resources, children and youth get involved with  4-H Consumer Economics projects and activities, such as personal finance simulations, consumer judging, and entrepreneur camp. These activities guide them in learning responsible money management. Good money management skills lay a foundation for future financial success.  4-H strives to help young people become competent in skills to prepare them for adulthood.

To find out more

Visit the 4-H website at www.uaex.edu/4h-youth  or contact your local County Extension Office to find out about 4-H in your local area.  For a directory of county offices go to: www.uaex.edu/counties

For more in-depth reading about the 4-H model for teaching life skills, go to www.extension.iastate.edu/4h/explore/lifeskills

Comments are closed.

