Skip to content

Setting children up for success

May 24, 2013

Here’s a life-changing idea…
“It is not what you do for your children, but what you have taught them to do for themselves that will make them successful human beings.”
–Ann Landers

In other words…
We want to assure our children’s success. We want to protect them from mistakes. As a result we may do too many things for them. We may tie their shoes long after they are able. With teens, we may try to make their decisions for them. One key to effective parenting is to let them do what they are able to do AND to stretch them to do slightly more than they can currently do comfortably. We keep them safe AND we help them grow.

Here’s how you can use this idea to have a better life…
Allow your child to do what he or she is able to do. It may be picking up toys, doing laundry, or deciding when they will be most productive doing their homework.

To find out more…
about parenting, check out The Parenting Journey or See the World Through My Eyes programs at arfamilies.org, follow us at facebook.com/navigatinglife or contact your local county Extension agent. You might also enjoy reading Between Parent and Child by Haim Ginott.

4 Comments
  1. May 29, 2013 12:03 am

    I’m starting up a online website directory and was wondering if I can submit your blog? I’m hoping to mature my directory slowly
    by hand so that it retains top quality. I will make sure and put
    your blog in the appropriate category and I’ll also use, “Family Life” as your anchor text. Be sure to let me know if this is ok with you by e-mailing me at: merissa-reagan@zoho.com. Thankyou

    • May 30, 2013 6:46 pm

      We would love for you to link to our blog. I’m glad that you find our information useful. If there’s anything else I can do to assist you, please let me know!

  2. June 11, 2013 7:24 pm

    I’m glad you like us! We try to use research-based information in all of our posts, which, sadly, sometimes isn’t what the common advice is.

Trackbacks

  1. online micro jobs

Comments are closed.

