Skip to content

With thorns come roses

May 16, 2013

Here’s a great idea…

“We can complain because rose bushes have thorns, or rejoice because thorn bushes have roses.” –Abraham Lincoln

In other words…

We may miss out on the greatest joys in life because we are too busy noticing the negative. Everything has good and bad aspects. Each of us chooses to look for roses or thorns.

Here’s how you can use this idea to have a better life…

Every time you feel pricked by one of life’s thorns, look for the roses. Take time to enjoy their color, form, and aroma. Make a note. Choose to be grateful.

To Find Out More…

about personal well-being, check out Getting Our Hearts Right or The Personal Journey programs at arfamilies.org, follow us at facebook.com/navigatinglife or contact your local county Extension agent. You may also enjoy reading Thanks by Robert A. Emmons.

3 Comments
  1. May 16, 2013 9:57 pm

    I just wrote an article about who we think life is unfair. However, we should be appreciate of what we have and look at the unfairness as an obstacle to hurdle over Great post and love the metaphor with the roses.

  2. May 30, 2013 6:56 pm

    Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if you knew
    of any widgets I could add to my blog that automatically tweet my
    newest twitter updates. I’ve been looking for a plug-in like this for quite some time and was hoping maybe you would have some experience with something like this. Please let me know if you run into anything. I truly enjoy reading your blog and I look forward to your new updates.

    • June 11, 2013 7:23 pm

      I’m sorry, I don’t, but if I find anything I’ll let you know!

Comments are closed.

