Skip to content

Involved fathers make happy children

February 15, 2013

Here’s a life-changing idea…                                                                                                                          

In their book, Why Fathers Count, Sean Brotherson and Joseph White say,

“For men. . .there is a clear and distinct link between the quality of their relationship with women and their involvement with children. . .Low marital satisfaction, emotional distance between partners, and high conflict in relationships undermine fathers’ involvement with their children” (p. 45-46).                                

In other words…

Fathers are better fathers when they have healthy relationships with the women in their lives—especially their wives. Even though they parent imperfectly, when fathers are positively involved in their children’s lives, children exhibit fewer behavior problems and anxieties; they also show higher cognitive development, greater academic achievement, and a greater ability to get along with others. It really pays off for fathers to be examples of love toward the children’s mothers.

 Here’s how you can use this idea to have a better life…                                                          

For mothers: Be patient as he improves his daddy skills. Commend your children’s father for what he does well. Encourage his involvement. You might say: “Our children are lucky to have you as their father.”

For fathers: Find ways to take extra responsibility so that your children’s mother can take breaks and rejuvenate.  Show that you love and respect her in addition to supporting her parenting efforts.

As you show love and respect for each other’s involvement and contributions, you prepare them to be good people and parents.

 To find out more…

about parenting, check out The Parenting Journey or See the World Through My Eyes programs at arfamilies.org, follow us at facebook.com/navigatinglife or contact your local county Extension agent. You might also enjoy reading Why Fathers Count.

9 Comments
  1. February 16, 2013 1:25 am

    You really make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this matter to be really something that I think I would never understand.
    It seems too complicated and very broad for me. I am looking forward for
    your next post, I will try to get the hang of it!

  2. February 18, 2013 5:09 pm

    The main message in this article is that fathers are important in the lives of children. Some mothers get impatient when dads don’t do things with their children the way the mom thinks it should be done. We just wanted to remind people how important it is for dads to be actively engaged with their children.

  3. February 18, 2013 6:58 pm

    Helpful information. Fortunate me I found your web site by chance, and I am surprised
    why this coincidence didn’t came about in advance! I bookmarked it.

  4. February 18, 2013 11:14 pm

    really informative post, i am truly happy to post my comment on your blog. i’m glad that you shared this helpful info with us.

  5. February 19, 2013 2:47 am

    I’ve been surfing online more than three hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours. It is pretty worth enough for me. Personally, if all web owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the internet will be a lot more useful than ever before.

  6. February 19, 2013 4:14 am

    Hello! I understand this is kind of off-topic however I had
    to ask. Does operating a well-established blog like yours require a massive amount
    work? I’m completely new to writing a blog however I do write in my diary everyday. I’d like to start a
    blog so I can share my experience and feelings online.
    Please let me know if you have any suggestions or tips for new aspiring blog owners.

    Appreciate it!

  7. February 19, 2013 7:08 pm

    you’re actually a excellent webmaster. The site loading velocity is incredible. It kind of feels that you’re
    doing any unique trick. Furthermore, The contents are
    masterpiece. you’ve performed a great job in this matter!

  8. February 21, 2013 8:27 am

    Pretty section of content. I just stumbled upon your web site and in accession capital to assert that I get
    in fact enjoyed account your blog posts. Anyway I’ll be subscribing to your augment and even I achievement you access consistently quickly.

  9. February 25, 2013 2:03 am

    Hi there! This is great info. My husband and I just started watching the marriage seminar you gave (Wallace Goddard) and its excellent.

    Regarding this article, I am wondering what your thoughts are on a father’s involvement with daughters actually helping her need for male attention by stopping premature romantic relationships with boys. Hope I make sense! Thank you for your generous guidance 🙂

Comments are closed.

