Skip to content

The listener’s job

February 11, 2013

Here’s a life-changing idea…                                                                                                                          

In their book, What Makes Love Last?, John Gottman and Nan Silver say,

“The listener’s goal is to appreciate the partner’s emotions—their meaning and history, and whatever events may have escalated the conflict or hurt feelings” (p. 121).

In other words…

When our partners are upset our first instinct may be to give advice or fix the problem. We want to take action, or at least offer words of encouragement that will improve their mood. These things, though well-intentioned, aren’t always helpful. What our partners need most in times of pain is to feel like they are being heard and understood.

Here’s how you can use this idea to have a better life…                                                          

The next time your partner is upset, resist the urge to fix the problem. Put your focus on your partner. Listen to his or her thoughts and feelings. Show that you are more interested in your partner than the problem. Feeling heard and accepted will help your partner feel more hopeful and better prepared to solve the problem.

 

To find out more…

check out The Marriage Garden program at www.arfamilies.org, like us at www.facebook.com/navigatinglife or contact your local county Extension agent. You might also enjoy reading What Makes Love Last?

6 Comments
  1. February 20, 2013 9:17 am

    Greetings! This is my first comment here so I just wanted
    to give a quick shout out and say I truly enjoy reading your posts.
    Can you recommend any other blogs/websites/forums that go over the same topics?

    Thanks a lot!

  2. February 21, 2013 3:38 pm

    Hi there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this blog before but after browsing through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.
    Anyways, I’m definitely glad I found it and I’ll be bookmarking and checking back often!

  3. February 21, 2013 3:38 pm

    I’m really loving the theme/design of your web site. Do you ever run into any browser compatibility issues? A handful of my blog visitors have complained about my website not working correctly in Explorer but looks great in Firefox. Do you have any solutions to help fix this problem?

  4. February 21, 2013 3:38 pm

    Hi, i read your blog from time to time and i own a similar one and i was just curious
    if you get a lot of spam responses? If so how do you protect against it, any
    plugin or anything you can advise? I get so much
    lately it’s driving me insane so any assistance is very much appreciated.

  5. February 21, 2013 3:39 pm

    I was curious if you ever thought of changing the page layout of your site?
    Its very well written; I love what youve got to say.
    But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could connect with it better.
    Youve got an awful lot of text for only having one or 2
    images. Maybe you could space it out better?

  6. February 21, 2013 3:39 pm

    Hey great website! Does running a blog like this require
    a great deal of work? I have absolutely no expertise in computer programming however I had been
    hoping to start my own blog soon. Anyway, should you have
    any ideas or techniques for new blog owners
    please share. I understand this is off topic however I simply
    had to ask. Kudos!

Comments are closed.

